The School Board May 12, 2020

...... heard Board member, Doug Weaver, recite the Elkhart Promise.

......heard a presentation by Tracey Weirich on a potential united sound orchestra program at Elkhart High School which includes special education students and peer mentors. The program would require additional fees and transportation with wheelchair lift capabilities. Anthony England, assistant superintendent of exceptional learners, will assist Mrs. Weirich in providing the necessary information to potentially move forward with the programming. The Board thanked Mr. and Mrs. Weirich for their time and presentation.

...... approved the following items under a consent approval:

Minutes – April 28, 2020 – Public Work Meeting Minutes – April 28, 2020 – Regular Board Meeting

Claims in the amount of \$5,359,235.18

Gift Acceptance:

\$250 from Teachers Credit Union and \$250 from Elkhart Luncheon Optimist to Daly for the 13th Annual Daly Dash; and \$1,000 from the Herendeen family to support and advance the mission of WVPE.

Grant submission to the Indiana Department of Education for a STEM Acceleration Grant in the amount of \$100,000.

Conference Leave Request

Personnel Report:

Employment of the following five (5) certified staff members for the 2020-2021 school year: Brenda Estrada, intervention at Beck; Matthew Garber, dean of behavior at Hawthorne; Bridget Huffman DeFaum, special education at Riverview; Joshua Yankey, math EHS West; and Megan Yoder, grade 1 at Eastwood.

Retirement of certified staff member, Tamara Hibshman, grade 2 at Feeser.

Resignation of the following four (4) certified staff members: Carla Biro, career readiness at Pierre Moran; Kendall Boyd, grade 1 at Roosevelt; James Davisson, grade 4 at Hawthorne; and , Maria Hite, special education at Feeser.

Employment of the following seven (7) classified employees: Holly Banks, food service at North Side; Nathaniel Brokamp, support technician at Technology Services; Lauren Ford, paraprofessional at Hawthorne; Dawn Fuqua, secretary at Memorial; Charlene Masten, support technician at Technology Services; Jessica Mattke, therapist at Pierre Moran; and Brianna McKenzie, paraprofessional at Monger.

Resignation of the following three (3) classified employees: Courtney Curry, secretary at Central; Natalie Murphey, social worker at Eastwood; and Susan Roberts, paraprofessional at Riverview.

- approved proposed new Board Policy 9211 Trademark Use, as presented at the April $28^{\rm th}$ regular meeting.
- was presented revisions to Board Policy 3410-04CS Substitute Compensation, for initial consideration.
- heard Superintendent Thalheimer state guidance regarding last days of school, graduation, and a press release will be presented over the next few days.